The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA’s presidential nominee Draupadi Murmu filed her nomination papers for presidential election scheduled to be held on July 18. Murmu, 64, was accompanied by Prime Minister Narendra Modi while handing over the set of papers to Returning Officer P C Mody.

NDA presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu files nomination papers for Prez polls

Union ministers Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari and Piyush Goyal,

BJP president J P Nadda and several chief ministers including Yogi Adityanath, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Manohar Lal Khattar, B S Bommai, Bhupendra Patel, Himanta Biswa Sarma, Pushkar Singh Dhami, Pramod Sawant and N Biren Singh were also present on the occasion.

YSR Congress’ V Vijaysai Reddy and Biju Janta Dal’s Sasmit Patra, who are not part of the NDA, were also in Parliament to back her nomination. AIADMK leaders O Paneerselvam and M Thambidurai and JD-U’s Rajiv Ranjan Singh also reached Parliament.

Koo App

झारखंड की पूर्व राज्यपाल श्रीमती द्रौपदी मुर्मू जी ने आज संसद भवन में यशस्वी प्रधानमंत्री श्री नरेंद्र मोदी जी तथा वरिष्ठ नेताओं की उपस्थिति में एन.डी.ए. की ओर से राष्ट्रपति पद हेतु नामांकन पत्र दाखिल किया। आपको हार्दिक बधाई एवं जीत की अग्रिम शुभकामनाएं।

View attached media content

– Madan Kaushik (@madankaushikbjp) 24 June 2022

Murmu, the former governor of Jharkhand and a prominent politician from Odisha’s tribal community, will be up against former Union minister Yashwant Sinha, 84, the Opposition’s candidate in the July 18 election, which will be followed by vote counting on July 21. The term of President Ram Nath Kovind ends on July 24.

Murmu spoke with Congress interim-president Sonia Gandhi, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and NCP chief Sharad Pawar seeking their party’s support for her candidature in the presidential election, according to sources.

Delhi | NDA’s Presidential candidate Droupadi Murmu files her nomination in the presence of PM Modi, Union cabinet ministers & CMs of BJP & NDA ruled states, at Parliament building

(Source: DD)

— ANI (@ANI) June 24, 2022

Every set of nomination has to have 50 proposers and 50 seconders among elected representatives.

READ | Draupadi Murmu vs Yashwant Sinha for next president| Here’s how numbers add up

Murmu, if elected, will be the first tribal president and the second woman in the post. She will also be the youngest president ever, second only to N Sanjeeva Reddy, who was a few days elder to her when he became the President.

(With PTI inputs)Start the conversation

Delhi-Dehradun travel to become expensive, toll rates to increase from July 1 | Details here

Read More..